Skip navigation

image01.jpg

The Marines came for Andrew Sunday.

He still hadn’t completed the running test they gave, but he shaved three minutes off his 17 1/2 minute time for the 1 1/2 mile course. You must complete it in 13 1/2 minutes in order to graduate, so he’ll have to do it in basic training or stay an extra two weeks. I doubt he’ll have any trouble with it.

I was pretty depressed about the whole thing Sunday, but it really didn’t hit home until I went food shopping and missed the things we’d do together.

I got a call from him around 9 last night; he was reading from a script and only stayed on the line about half a minute and I didn’t have the chance to talk to him. But he did make it to South Carolina, he really is there now.

He was nervous, excited, apprehensive and scared; but the next time I see him (likely in June) it will all be behind him.

I know there’s no way Hillary will be able to come to his graduation because of dear Fruity, but if anyone else can take a weekend off in June (perhaps, will know the exact date in a month or so), and can foot the plane ticket to SC (it was cheap from California for Ally’s, at least), I know Recruit Holloway will be glad to see you!

He’ll be PFC Holloway by then, though.

Ally, I can pay for your ticket, and Matthew and Sean as well if they can come. Maybe you could stay a few days and we could all do some heavy duty family visiting, too!  And celebrate your and Andy’s birthday. I told Andy to be absolutely sure not to tell anyone he’s turning 21 in a few weeks. That can only lead to something bad.

4 Comments

  1. Okay well we’d love to come. Not sure about Sean as he is graduating school around that time and starts his AT (his 2 week training) on June 10th. If it does work out though, I am sure he’ll be there too.

  2. The little one is all growed up!

    At Thanksgiving I saw that Andy has potential to be a good runner — maybe he’ll develop an interest in that after he is all whipped into shape.

  3. It’d be nice if you’d pass along an address or phone number. I am always left out of the loop. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.

  4. I will when I get it. I told Andy to write everyone, including you, but I told him I’d pass it along to everyone as soon as I got it.

    Hope your mom is feeling better.


Leave a Reply

