Skip navigation

After hearing the author of “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” and “The Omnivore’s Solution” speak on NPR a few days back, I decided, now that I’m alone, to try and eat a little better.

I know this book has been in the Holloway Reading Club for some time, but it’s new to me, so…

Supper every night now is rice and green beans, in accordance with his credo of “eat natural foods, mostly plants, and not too much.” Mornings are frozen waffles (I suspect these are not natural foods) with pure maple syrup — the stuff I was using was all high fructose corn syrup, what the author called a “marker” for artificial food.

I follow that up with some Yoplait yogurt at work as a morning snack. This yogurt has active cultures, which is said to do good things for your digestion.

I’m only two days into it — I had some beef roast to finish up Monday and Tuesday — but it’s okay so far; a cup of rice and a can of green beans fills me up.

Lunches are still an issue; I have a cup of ramen soup each day, which gets me cracks around the office about my “cup of sodium”. I’ll have to think of something healthier and yet quick to prepare for lunch.

Setting aside that the Cup o’NaCl  is made with chicken broth, it’s a fairly vegetarian diet during the week. I expect I’ll backslide on weekends, especially with Jenn coming next week, since I imagine we’ll go out to eat at least once.

It won’t lose me any weight by itself, I’m sure, but it’s healthier and when I get to exercising, will make a nice one-two punch to my flabby stomach.

3 Comments

  1. Don’t forget the lean fats that your body needs to function. I know I am always pushing flaxseed oil – but I believe it will help you maintain energy to workout as well as give you the nutrition your diet will lack.

  2. Brian and I put the good Pollan ideas into play (a little bit, anyway!) by having this box of organic vegetables delivered every two weeks. It forces us away from thinking purely in terms of what we want (which we do a lot of, too), and adds in the dimension of “and what is available.” It is actually pretty cool to be slightly tied in to the seasons, the way nature intended. Since we are paying for the box either way, we do our best to eat everything it contains, which forces us out of our comfort zone sometimes.

    To jennifer: some people get good fat (what is “lean” fat? fat is fat…) from eating avocados, nuts, and fish, so if someone likes and is willing to eat those things, they may not need a supplement. If you ever read the Pollan book, he has a whole section on treating food as nutrient bundles rather than as food. Pretty interesting ideas.

  3. My doctor used the term lean fat – speak to her.


Leave a Reply

