Skip navigation

-1C this morning, I’d guessed 0C. Close enough.

Back when I lived in Marina, Holy Week was important. I’d occasionally attend Ash Wednesday or Good Friday services, but Holy Thursday was one I never missed. They would open the church (St. Matthias’) and it would just be dimly lit and very quiet. The Father would come by and give a silent Communion, and then I’d go back to work.

St. Matthias was such a wonderful church, though our congregation was really small. I hadn’t paid much attention to the kids’ religious education growing up, and thought it was time we, as a family, got involved.

Since it was such a small congregation, there weren’t many other families with children who attended. They’d come by a couple of weeks, then go elsewhere. I thought later that perhaps the kids would have taken more interest if we’d gone to the Lutheran church up the road instead. We did a joint Christmas program with them once, and they had LOTS of kids.

I wanted the kids, though, to be brought up, at least for a little while, in the Episcopal church. I’d passed St. Matthias’ in Seaside many, many times while we lived there, so that was the church I wanted to attend, even though we had moved to Marina since.

Hmmm… thanks, Internet, for showing me last year’s annual report for St. Matthias. Apparently they are doing a LOT BETTER, which is good. The report says homes in Seaside are going for $1,000,000+ (we should have JUMPED when we had a chance to buy the condo next door for $96K), lots of people are moving into what was Fort Ord, and that St. Matthias has become popular with CSUMB students and — get this — the GLBT community.

They seem to be doing a lot to help “my” kind of people (even though I had almost nothing to do with the community after SRS, it’s nice to know there are people looking out for us).

Coming out to the vicar was tough, but she was very supportive and firmed my love for the church. Getting confirmed as my “new” self was very important to me, as much as getting Allyson and Andrew confirmed. Once that was done, I felt proud and glad that I had finally kept the promise Lynn and I had made to the pastor of the Methodist church where we got married to bring the children up in the church.

Okay, it wasn’t the Methodist church, since it was Lynn who was the Methodist, but it was *a* church…

I haven’t attended a church regularly since moving away from the Monterey area. I’m thinking about starting again. When I am in church, I feel connected to everything; a very small part of something incredibly great.

2 Comments

  1. Well, I did like going to the church, and I have fond memories, even though I did complain. I really want to get Matt baptized, but am really wary about joining a new church. Don’t you have to be part of a particular church to baptize your kid? Guess I could go old-style and dunk him in Lake Hemet (free needle included)

  2. I guess it would be up to the pastor of whatever church you would choose. If you went to any Episcopal church and told them you were baptized and confirmed in the diocese of El Camino Real, I doubt there would be any problem at all baptizing Matthew there. And if you ever felt you wanted to go to a church on Easter or Christmas Eve or something, well, there it would be. Churches LOVE meeting new people.

    Please do do it 🙂

    Also, possible additional benefit: Your baptismal and confirmation certificates can be used as a form of secondary identification. Andy used his confirmation certificate to get his Connecticut ID…


Leave a Reply

