Skip navigation

Temperature? I think it was 27C *at least* when we started off for Massachusetts today. Hot and muggy. Storm clouds were gathering above the highway on the way home, but we left them behind when we returned to Connecticut.

Andy and I drove up to Boston today to visit baby Atticus and his loving parents at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. This time we were smart, and brought a return map, but STILL got lost. By the time we found I-90 again, we were well into Southie and in sight of Logan Airport.

Andy claims he wants to live in Boston now. There was something huge going on in the Commons, I think it had something to do with cats. There were a lot of people there.

We weren’t there to go to the Commons though. We were there to see the newest member of the family, Atticus (potential nicknames: Attaboy, Atty, Light in the Atticus). I have to admit — this is the first baby I have seen with such a long neck, and he was craning it all around, looking at everything until he’d suddenly fall asleep again.

It would be hard not to fall in love with him at first sight. I know I sure did 🙂 Holding Atticus made me miss my own grandson, Matthew, so much more, too.

Congratulations to Hillary and Brian. They have a wonderful son.

Here’s some of the pictures I took while there. The other ones are yucktacular. These aren’t so hot either, but, plenty of time for better ones in the years to come.

3 Comments

  1. Thanks for the update – not sure about the nicknames. lol Did you ask what inspired the name? The general assumption is they got it from “to kill a mockingbird” – but you know what they say, when you assume you make an ASS out of U and ME. 🙂

  2. I asked Hillary; the name did indeed come from “To Kill a Mockingbird”. The parents’ position is that Atticus will not have a nickname — no to start, anyway. He will be called “Atticus”. That’s why I joked about nicknames 🙂

    If Atticus had been a girl, her name would have been Sasha Shirley Shimkin, which is nice, if a bit alliterative 🙂

  3. Well we could keep a nickname tradition alive – “Fat Mint” and “Fatticus”… Just a thought.


Leave a Reply

